Solar for 240 V well pump

• Solar for 240 V well pump

Posted by Tommy-Gun on March 20, 2023 at 2:52 am

I found out that the deep well pumps on my property are 240 volts. Trying to find out if it is feasible to run them on solar. I am a novice and have diy solar for my camper truck, but I don’t know anything about 240 V systems. Can anybody point me to a primer?

I want to use one to water garden. I know I could use a cheap pump to get water from my pond, but I also want to use in case of grid down.

Thanks

Tywiggle replied 1 year, 1 month ago 12 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • Jesse_workshop

March 20, 2023 at 3:06 am

How deep is the well? There’s a few solar pumps on the market but may no go more that 100 ft. To run the 240v pumps it may be more than you think, I’m in the same boat and it’s about 4k to get a decent inverter and batteries.

I used “practical preppers” for my solar equipment and recommended them, they have some of the solar pumps available.

• Tommy-Gun

March 20, 2023 at 3:19 am

Thanks for the info. The wells were dug 2 owners ago, so I don’t know for sure but the well guy I know said they are probably around 200 ft. deep.

• Tommy-Gun

March 20, 2023 at 3:31 am

Also forgot to mention there are 4 wells on my property. One for the house, one for the small guest cabin and 2 for the pond. Previous owner told me that water loss in the pond is due to evaporation (yeah right) which I have already proved to be wrong. The garden area is near the pond, so what I will probably have to do is get a holding tank and run a line from the smaller pump so I can use drip tape but this doesn’t help with grid down or power outages.

• JeffL

March 20, 2023 at 3:18 am